The third annual Antique Motorcycle Club of America – Australia Meet was held at the Bulli showground, south of Sydney  over the weekend of the 24th and 25th August 2019.  This meet is based on the successful formula used throughout the United States and now internationally encouraging bikes 35 years and older of all makes and models.

Sunday morning, whilst the tech seminars were getting started the AMCA Judging was commenced.  A team of 18 judges, all selected by their peers for their specialist knowledge,  were kept busy judging the 32 machines entered.   For those not familiar with the AMCA Judging system, each bike is judged on its own merits and against the standard of “how it left the factory when built” Each machine starts with 100 points and deductions are made across the various categories of judging.  Awards commence at Junior Second ( 85 – 90 points), Junior First (90 – 95 points) Senior (95 – 100) and Winners Circle (95 – 100 points)  It is possible to get through the system in one year in the USA but given there is only the one event in Australia it will take 3 years to achieve a Winners Circle Award.

As the event wound up on the Sunday afternoon , the official presentations commenced with prizes awarded for the various AMCA Judging Awards together with AMCA Centennial awards for bikes 100 years and older.  Awards for Most Unique, Best Period modified, Oldest Bike and People’s Choice were also presented.  The Mayor of Wollongong  together with a State MP were in attendance and an award for the best club display was also presented.   

Ladies and Gents,


Just a word of thanks to each of you for your significant contribution to what was a very successful Australian National Meet.


The attendance was up and the feedback from those that attended was indeed positive.


Special thanks must go to the Executive Director of the AMCA; Keith Kizer, who made the long haul out to Australia for what was only a brief stay.


A great many elements to this event that kept everyone interested with activities planned throughout the course of the weekend.


As for my part:  The Judging this year saw a total of 38 machines entered.  Breaking down the awards we had the following



2 x Withdrawals


2 x No change to previous years award


1 x Junior Second


12 x Junior Firsts


14 x Senior


7 x Winner’s Circle.



Of the bikes entered we had the following:


25 x HD’s


6 x Indians


5 x Japanese


1 x Ace


1 x Vincent



Other Awards:


Centenary medallions:


1911 Zenith         Antony Gullick


1917 HD                Peter Marshall 


1919 Indian Power Plus Peter Marshall


Period Modified:


1939 HD Model W            Peter McBride


Most Unique:


1931 New Hudson           Glenn Brookes


Oldest Bike:


1911 Zenith                         Antony Gullick


The Tony Blain Perpetual Trophy:


1951 Vincent Lightning   Peter Bender